Summary

‘A powerful, haunting debut’—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and survival in the hardest of circumstances.

Germany, 1944. A prisoner in the camps, midwife Anke Hoff is doing what she can to keep her pregnant campmates and their newborns alive.
 
But when Anke’s work is noticed, she is chosen for a task far more dangerous than she could ever have imagined. High in the Bavarian hills, Eva Braun is pregnant, and Anke is assigned as her caregiver. 
 
Before long, Anke is faced with an impossible choice. Does she serve the Reich she loathes and keep the baby alive? Or does she sacrifice an innocent child for the good of a broken world?

Reviews

‘The German Midwife is a book to harrow the soul and linger long in the mind. Anke, a German midwife sent to a labor camp for aiding Jewish mothers against Third Reich law, is whisked from hell-scape to eerie luxury when she is brought to Hitler's private mountain estate to care for his pregnant mistress Eva Braun. Mandy Robotham writes movingly of the eternal human struggle to preserve reverence for life in the midst of genocide and horror. A powerful, haunting debut.’ Kate Quinn

‘Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn’t put this down.’ Katie Fforde

‘A fascinating story which had me forgetting it’s fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!’ Kitty Neale

‘I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of historical fiction books I’ve read in 2018.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 Stars I would!’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘A lovely, heartbreaking book. Highly recommend!’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘Very compelling.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘This book absolutely DESTROYED me. I went into it with high expectations, and I certainly wasn't let down.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘The writing was excellent and the characters realistic […] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.’ NetGalley Reviewer

About the author

Mandy Robotham has been an aspiring author since the age of nine, but was waylaid by journalism and later enticed by birth. She’s now a practising midwife who writes about birth, death, love and everything else in between. She graduated with an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University. This is her first novel.

You might also like...